top of page

Tips to Journal More Consistently

As a lover of history, I have gained some of the most valuable insight from reading published journals of great leaders, geniuses and even some teens. History may be written by the victors, but the readings that make me feel connected to the more average humans of the past have been through reading the thoughts these greats have penned with their own hands. More practical than learning that some great historical figures were humans and suffer the same perils and plights that we have today, journaling is a great way to not only record one’s thoughts for future reference, but can drastically aid in the challenges we undertake ourselves. Things like dealing with trauma, reflecting on the good in life, losing weight or even getting ahead in a career slump.

Have you wanted to undertake journaling, but keep being held back by your pages not being filled with earth-shattering revelations or events to record? Maybe you struggle to find the time to sit and take pen to paper with so much going on in your day already. Maybe you feel like your writing abilities aren’t up to snuff.

Honestly, there’s no “right” way to use your journal or for the technique to help you through something. Here are some tips I’ve realized through the years that might assist you in being more consistent in your endeavors.


Designate a time-Blocking out the same time each day for journaling may help you make it a simple habit. Who cares what time it is, when you have it to spare, use it to focus your day and you wont regret taking even five minutes for it. (and if you aren’t living a life where you can schedule things for certain times because, let’s face it, life is full and busy, that’s cool too! I just grab the time when I take a break from work or before I hit the sack at night. It’s not a big deal.)


Carry it with you-So, I have a collection of notebooks that I add to when I find something I like on sale, so I have plenty to choose from. I like to keep a small notebook on hand most times to record anything I feel inspired to write down. Not only does this enable me to record things I might neglect to remember later in the day, but to polish up the writing itself, whether it be my atrocious grammar or just clarifying and making the idea a bit more poetic when I think on it more. Plus, I have the option to fill any wait times doing something I actually like to do when doing something not quite fun when I have a long wait ahead. (Hello sitting at the DMV!)


Be brief-You don’t have to wait until you feel like you can fill the majority of a full-sized page, so maybe begin with a smaller sized notebook for your journal. Heck, I’ve been known to write a sentence because that’s what’s bouncing around in my head all day. I like to use those times to make my text bigger and decorative while I think on that thought later. Markers and colored pens/pencils make this a fun, meditative process for me. Maybe you’re more inclined towards drawing anyway, this could be a fun and easy way for you to get in the habit of regularly recording your thoughts. No one is grading you, no one is reading what you’re writing and judging you….this is for YOU and you alone, so it only matters what you think.


Grab yourself a notebook and try these tips out in the next few days. Don’t worry about giving your journal pages structure if you’re trying this for the first time, just try to get it down to a habit. Maybe use a notebook separate from the one you intend to use as your “actual” journal just to practice. You can always copy down anything you’re happy with later. I also like to leave the first two to five pages in the front of my book blank for later use or to decorate with things I’ve colored that I cut out and glue inside. I do this with other pages too, just small things that I thought I did well on and that I know I wont use anywhere else. I enjoy it and I’m the only one seeing it, so that’s all that matters.


Our next post will be on the different technique to get more in-depth with journaling, so stay tuned! We also have some guided journals on specific topics over in our store and some freebies you might like to use to get started! Until next time, just remember to be yourself and keep in mind this is an exercise for yourself, no one else. Its intensely private, so use it to the best of your abilities!


Here’s to your success and joy in learning to journal! Drop me a line with any of your ideas, too! We all struggle some days to be creative, and I tend to get into a boring routine with my journaling from time to time as well!


Much love!

Sarah






3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page